Log In | Contact Us
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Aurora League of Women Voters Records


Scope and Contents

Administrative Information

Detailed Description

Box 1

Box 2

Box 3

Box 4

Contact us about this collection

Aurora League of Women Voters Records, 1947-1982 | Northern Illinois University

Printer-friendly Printer-friendly | Email Us Contact Us About This Collection

Collection Overview

Title: Aurora League of Women Voters Records, 1947-1982

ID: RHC/RC/151

Extent: 2.25 Linear Feet

Date Acquired: 06/02/1982

Subjects: Aurora (Ill.), Economic development., Kane County (Ill), League of Women Voters, League of Women Voters (Aurora, Ill.), United States--Politics and government, Women--Societies and clubs.

Languages: English

Scope and Contents of the Materials

Meeting minutes, annual reports, correspondence, budgets, bulletins, and scrapbooks comprise a major portion of this collection documenting the Aurora League of Women Voters (1947-1982).  Although the minutes date only through May 1971, there are annual meeting proceedings for 1972 and 1973.  Committee records and subject files document some of the studies and research conducted by the League (local government, downtown redevelopment, housing, and public health).  The publications Know Your Town and Know Your County document government, education, planning and zoning, health, recreation, and the judicial systems of Aurora and Kane County.  Photographs, a tape on “Practical Politics”, the proceedings from the Illinois League’s 31st convention in 1963, and newspaper clippings complete the collection.

Collection Historical Note

The Aurora League of Women Voters held their organizational meeting on May 9, 1947. Seventy-five women attended, but only twenty-four paid the $3.00 membership fee.  The group elected Mrs. Chester Carson, president, Mrs. Orville Westlund, 1st vice president, Mrs. Phillip Wright, 2nd vice president, Mrs. H.E. Bonham, treasurer, and Mrs. May R. Simpson, secretary. They also decided to do a “Know Your City” study for their first project.  In November 1949 the Aurora League received official recognition from the National League office and by 1958 they had 94 members.

The Aurora League organized “to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation of citizens in government.”  To fulfill this purpose the group researched, studied, evaluated, and held community meetings on topics of public concern.  During the 1958-1959 year they evaluated Kane County and Aurora area public health.  Their conclusions resulted in the creation of a Health Board by the city of Aurora, the reactivization of a Council of Community Services Health Committee, the unearthing and codification of Aurora’s old health ordinances, the evaluation of Kane County health facilities, legislation by the Kane County Medical Association, and a community health program by the National Council of Jewish Women.  Their 1960’s work included pushing for an Illinois Constitutional Convention, studying local planning and land use, doing interviews for a poverty survey administered by a civic committee under the Office of Equal Opportunity, surveying public health facilities available in Kane County, and studying a proposed fair housing ordinance.

Other projects for the League involved studying the Council/Manager form of government (1970) and the problem of growth in the Aurora area and its effect on government, land use, transportation, and related problems (1973).  The League also worked for the passage of the ERA amendment and provided voting information for all local, state, and national elections.

Subject/Index Terms

Aurora (Ill.)
Economic development.
Kane County (Ill)
League of Women Voters
League of Women Voters (Aurora, Ill.)
United States--Politics and government
Women--Societies and clubs.

Administrative Information

Repository: Northern Illinois University

Access Restrictions: There are no restrictions on access to the collection.

Use Restrictions: Property rights in the collection belong to the Regional History Center; literary rights are dedicated to the public.

Acquisition Source: Kathleen Meinert

Acquisition Method: Kathleen Meinert, President, donated the Aurora League of Women Voters records to the Northern Illinois Regional History Center on June 2, 1982.

Related Materials: Researchers studying Kane County government and politics may wish to consult the records of the Elgin and Geneva-St. Charles League of Women Voters.  The Center also holds several other League collections for those researching league activities.

Box and Folder Listing

Browse by Box:

[Box 1],
[Box 2],
[Box 3],
[Box 4],

Box 3
Folder 1-2: Bulletins, 1980-1982
Folder 3: Publication, Know Your Town...Aurora, 1964
Folder 4: Publication, Know Your County-Kane, 1965, 1966
Folder 5: Newspaper Clippings, 1950-1974
Folder 6: Photographs (9), no date
Folder 7: Tape, "Practical Politics #1", no date
Folder 8: League of Women Voters of Illinois, 31st Convention, 1963

Browse by Box:

[Box 1],
[Box 2],
[Box 3],
[Box 4],

Page Generated in: 0.139 seconds (using 322 queries).
Using 2.93MB of memory. (Peak of 3.23MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign