Fred Saberhagen Papers, 1960-2013
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description:

The Fred Saberhagen Papers consists of printed (paper-based) and handwritten edited manuscripts (mostly of his novels), a small amount of short stories, correspondence associated with those materials, and some miscellaneous materials.  The collection is divided into series based upon format. Series I consists of novels, Series II includes short stories, Series III contains correspondence, Series IV is miscellaneous, Series V is Entertainment Media Adapted from Novels, and Series VI is Media. Each Series is broken down into book series by date of publication.  For example, Series I: Novels starts with his Berserker series (which was his first series) and each of the books in this series are placed in order by date of publication.

The order of his written materials is as follows: Berserker series, Empire of the East series, Vlad Tepes series, Mask of the Sun series, Book of the Swords series, Book of the Lost Swords series, Books of the Gods series, Standalone novels, Omnibus, Collections, Book series Saberhagen contributed to, Anthologies he edited, Anthologies containing his stories, and ending with short stories.

An Addendum was added on 8-28-2014 that added material to Series I, II, III, and IV and created Series V and VI. Another Addendum was added on 8-28-2015 that added material to Series I.

Held at:
Northern Illinois University
Founders Memorial Library
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Phone: 815-753-1779
Email: RHCUA [at]
Record Series Number: RBSC/SFWA/053
Volume: 42.0 Linear Feet
Acquired: 12/15/2011.

ADDITION: Fred Saberhagen Papers, Digital materials --2007,  donated 11/15/2015

  -9 folders downloaded from dropbox.

  -now located: V:\Rare\Collections\Digital Collections\SFWA Archives\Fred Saberhagen\13Nov2015


More information is available at
Arrangement: Series I is Novels, Series II is Short Stories, Series III consists of Correspondence, Series IV is Miscellaneous, Series V contains Entertainment Adapted from Novels, and Series VI is Media.
Access Restrictions: Photographs and photocopies of collection are prohibited.
Rights/Use Restrictions: Property Rights are transferred to the University Libraries per the signed Deed of Gift Document. Literary Rights are retained by the content creator.  Any copyrights so stated in the materials remain in force.
Acquisition Notes: Saberhagen, Joan
Related Materials: For more information please see